top of page

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

"Education is the most powerful weapon which   you can use to change the world". Nelson Mandela
​Prime Areas


Personal, social and emotional development

These goals focus on children’s personal, social, emotional, moral and spiritual development including the development of personal values and an understanding of self and others.


Communication and language

These goals cover the development of communication skills, including speaking, listening and attention and understanding.


Physical development

These goals focus on children’s developing physical control, mobility, awareness of space and manipulative skills in indoor and outdoor environments. They include establishing positive attitudes towards a healthy active way of life.

Specific Areas



These goals focus on an introduction to stories and rhymes and an early introduction to letter sounds as well as developing control in mark making.



These goals cover important aspects of mathematical understanding and provide a foundation for numeracy. They focus on achievement through practical activities and on using and understanding language in the development of simple mathematical ideas, such as shapes, numbers, measurements and space.



These goals focus on children’s developing knowledge and understanding of their environment, other people and features of the natural and made world as well as their use of technology. They provide a foundation for scientific, technological, historical and geographical learning.


Expressive arts and design

These goals focus on the development of children’s imagination and creativity and their ability to explore, express and share ideas and feelings through different forms of communication.

bottom of page